... and the Oldenburg-Reiche Prize 2005 goes to:

Out-of-Sync Collective
(Maria Miranda and Norie Neumark)

for the historically groundbreaking and most charming, beautiful, intelligent explanation of the mysterious High Reality Machine (HRM_1.0n).

... and the public award goes to:

Ada Frankiewicz

for insights linking the High Reality Machine to the early works of Albert Einstein in a transdisciplinary way.

MARS PATENT’s Grand Jury: Ulrike Bergermann; Alexandra Bialas; Christiane Brohl / Galerie Helga Broll (Chris Regn); Birgit Kiupel; Andrea Sick


Explain the High Reality Machine (HRM_1.0n)

Deadline Extended to June 15, 2005!

Rules and Information for the Competition 2004 / 2005

2 polished brass plates for personalized engraving of the winner’s name

In 2004 the MARS PATENT’s founders Claudia Reiche and Helene von Oldenburg agreed to underwrite a contest designed to prove that MARS PATENT’s HRM_1.0n, the “High Reality Machine” works and to explain its principle functions.

The authors pledged a Grand Prize of two polished brass plates for the first scientist or artist whose solution is convincing to the MARS PATENT’s Grand Jury. This Jury consists of 5 (five) randomly chosen members of the Friends of the MARS PATENT with an international reputation and experiences as jury or progamm committee members, chairs of institutions or else. This jury will stay anonymous until the results of the reviewing process being declared to guarantee their independency.

One brass plate with the engraved name of the winner will be teleported by the HRM_1.0n to the Mars Exhibition site (MES), and fixed with 2 brass screws on a beautiful rock on Mars, coordinates: Latitude 19° N, Longitude 281° E, facing south. The second brass plate will be given to the winner at her or his free disposition. If there are two equally convincing submissions, the female author will be declared winner.

Submissions should be e-mailed to: until May 31, 2005, 24:00. The winner will be notified as soon as possible and presented on the MARS PATENT’s website, as will every submission to allow a public discussion of the submissions and the jury’s choice.


Lowry Burgess  |  Joan Bucking   |   Paula Hasenzuckers von Zuckerhasen  |  Naomi Nooteboom  |  Eugenia Gortchakova | Ada Frankiewicz   |  Out of Sync Collective |  Helen Varley Jamieson

home welcome mes hrm form projects faq guest